Poetry · Writing

How Poetry Changed My Life for the Better

I started writing poetry on a regular basis at 14 years old. I started writing about love – mostly about food and my long-distance relationship. From then on, poetry followed me wherever I went. But maybe it was I who followed the poetry?

Poetry was there for me through breakups, high school, tragedy, and family drama. Poetry was there for me when I got distracted in the classroom, and poetry was there for me when I started my first retail job. When I finished a test, the teachers would let me bring out my notebook and I’d scribble poems to pass the time. I would write poems using all the vocabulary words assigned in that week’s English class to memorize the definitions. I even tried to write poems in French! (Bonjour croissant/bonjour fromage/bonjour poisson!)

This constant habit led to long-term change.

The quality of my grammar increased. I could organize my thoughts for essays more easily. Overall, my writing improved. I took these habits to college and I got the same result. This led to higher grades and a higher GPA.

Correlation doesn’t imply causation. I also studied and organized my methods of studying. But my constant verse writing was certainly not hurting anything!

Now, I’m not trying to tell you to write while the teacher is talking or when you’re supposed to be taking notes. However, I am saying that writing little poems at every open opportunity helped shape my education and I believe helped give my future a boost.

I can now write professional emails and correspondence with confidence. Poetry helped my proofreading and communication abilities.

I recommend writing – poetry, fiction, nonfiction – at any open moment. Don’t force it, just let the words flow. When you dedicate a plethora of little moments, they add up to a healthy percentage of the day. This translates to practice, and practice can only help better a hobby-passion – which leaks into other (sometimes surprising!) areas of life.

Leave a Reply

