Writing

Back for Camp NaNoWriMo!

Camp-2017-Participant-Profile-PhotoCamp NaNoWriMo is becoming more poet-friendly every year. When I first started participating back in 2012, goals were based on word count. When I listed my project on my camper’s site this year, I noticed that a variety of ways were included in the project categorization.

I’m finally able to list my project as “Poetry” and I’m finally able to list my goal in terms of pages. My goal is going to start out at 60 pages – with one poem per page, my goal is thus to write 60 poems. However, my ultimate goal is to finish my mermaid verse novel, which may be well over 60 more poems.

For the past few Camp NaNoWriMo sessions, I wasn’t feeling very motivated. Mostly because I was also working on earning my master’s degree. It was a tough balance, and I needed to take some time to focus on my studies. Now that that’s settled, I can focus on my writing! I started this verse novel a few months ago and I’m really looking forward to seeing a complete first draft.

Anyway, Camp NaNoWriMo starts in a week and I’m looking forward to it. Are you?

One thought on “Back for Camp NaNoWriMo!

  1. I really like the new ways to set your goal too, particularly the hours one. I think it’s helpful to form a daily writing habit and also not feel too overwhelmed with all the words you need to write!

    The mermaid verse novel sound incredibly interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

