Book Review · Reading

#SummerReadingProgram Book 1: Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer

Rating: Five out of five stars

(Slight spoilers ahead.)

29772863As I wrote about in my last blog post, I joined my local library’s summer reading program after finding out they offered the program for adults! This particular summer reading program sets the goal of six books by July 29th. I’ve been wanting to read more graphic novels, and once my favorite series got a graphic novel spinoff, I knew I had to read it.

It is no secret that I absolutely LOVE The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. The world is fleshed out and each character has their own vibrant personality based off of fairytales – in space. The cast is racially- and ability- diverse, full of strong women and the men who love them.

The spin-off graphic novel series centers on Iko, the android who has a personality unlike any other androids. She fought in the revolution in the main series and is loyal, friendly, and has a passion for fashion. She’s now become a special agent, capturing and imprisoning the enemy wolf-hybrid-soldiers left over from the war (I was having a really hard time imagining what these particular characters looked like while I was reading the main series, so I’m happy I got to see them here!). While this mission is her outer conflict, she simultaneously wrestles with her inner conflict: constant reminders that she is the Other in society because she is an android, and the self-doubt that results from them.

The book is not without its flaws – mainly, that the art style of the characters renders some of the guys similar. I had to do a double-take a few times to remember which character I was looking at because I kept confusing them. In the main series, one of the characters loses part of a finger. I kept an eye on multiple frames, but I found no finger missing. The guy who is being set up as the main love interest believes Iko to be nothing more than a robot with artificial emotions, and treats her like she is not real with blatant disrespect.

So why did I rate it five stars, despite the flaws? I got caught up in the world of adventure and romance. I love the world Meyer has built; it has become an escape for me. Rapunzel is one of my favorite fairytales, and to see one of my favorite literary characters (based off Rapunzel) was a treat. I was also able to sympathize with the antagonists; I’m looking forward to future installments to see how this conflict is resolved.

Picture from Goodreads
Review also on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

