Reading

The Bookish Time Travel Tag

I have been tagged by the lovely Denise at English Lit Geek for the Bookish Time Travel tag! I love books and I love time travel, so count me in!

Rules:

  • Answer as many of the questions as you can/want.
  • Tag other people – as many as you like. Share the love!
  • Please leave a link to this post/blog.
  • Tag the post as “Bookish Time Travel.”
  • Feel free to leave a link to your post in the contact form!
  • Explore! Try and visit other people’s Bookish Time Travel posts and leave a comment.

1.) What is your favorite historical setting for a book?

I love reading about books that take place in either the 1800s or turn of the century/early 1900s. The lack of technology makes for great misunderstandings and subliminal mishaps.

2.) What writer/s would you like to travel back in time to meet?

Emily Dickinson, Anne Bradstreet, and Anne Bronte.

3.) What book/s would you travel back in time and give to your younger self?

In this scenario, I would give the following books to my high-school-self:

  • Persepolis – Marjane Satrapi
  • The Weight of the Sky – Lisa Ann Sandell (I think I would have enjoyed the book more when I was in high school, the same age as the main character.)
  • Feminism: A Very Short Introduction – Margaret Walters (I once had to give a presentation on feminism in high school and I had no idea what I was talking about!)

4.) What books would you travel forward in time and give to your older self?

Honestly, I can’t think of any because I hope that I’ll have read my present books by the time my future is the present! Unless I’m gifting a book from my Amazon wish list to myself.

5.) What is your favorite futuristic setting in a book?

I love dystopian settings – the near-but-distant future where society has gone horribly wrong. I love seeing if the characters will uphold the confines of society or rebel.

6.) What is your favorite book that is set in a different time period (can be historical or futuristic)?

The Hunger Games trilogy, hands down. A futuristic dystopian world of both miraculous technology and class struggles within poverty versus aristocracy.

7.) Spoiler Time: Do you ever skip ahead to the end of a book just to see what happens?

Occasionally, but I try not to. If the curiosity is too strong, I allow myself a peek at the very last sentence.

8.) If you had a Time Turner, where would you go and what would you do?

Well, the longest period of time that can be reversed via Time Turner without serious harm to the user is five hours. In this case, I’d go back and get myself a second cup of coffee. If I had a TARDIS, however, that’s a different story…then I’d go to 1850 and visit Emily Dickinson, just to have a chat.

9.) Favorite book (if you have one) that includes time travel or takes place in multiple time periods?

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling – one of my favorite books, and my favorite in the series. With the Time Turner as a major plot point, Harry is able to save one of the few family members he has left.

10.) What book/series do you wish you could go back and read again for the first time?

Series:

  • Harry Potter – J.K. Rowling
  • Deltora Quest – Emily Rodda
  • The Amazing Days of Abby Hayes – Anne Mazer
  • Amelia’s Notebooks – Marissa Moss
  • Dear America – (Multiple authors)

Tag! These Bookish Time Travellers are it:

Further links:

8 thoughts on “The Bookish Time Travel Tag

  1. Great post Amanda! That was quick. So cool – I love Emily Dickinson too – she was my next choice to meet! Lots of good books to look into here. I’ve never heard of a Tardis – very clever – I see Dr. Who uses it. Good work! Thanks for participating.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

