Book Review · Reading

#TackleTBR Wrap-Up

Since September 12th, I have embarked on my second annual journey to read as many books as possible in the span of two weeks. In the beginning, I set my goal to five books, which I met within the first week. The second week has passed, and on this last day of the Tackle Your To-Be-Read Read-A-Thon, I have not only surpassed that goal, but I have doubled it. I started this challenge fourteen days ago, and finished this challenge ten books later.

31449717100 Science Fiction Writing Prompts – Kate M. Colby
Rating: Four out of five stars

I’ve been wanting to write more science fiction, so this is a great book to start with! There were a few spelling errors, but it was nothing major. My favorite part was the section on space opera prompts, as I always wondered what specifically defined that subgenre.

26868822Her Treasures – Fida Islaih
Rating: Three out of five stars

Fida Islaih’s poetry comes from the heart of the poet herself, and the love she has for her culture: Palestine, Malaysia, and America. Thanks to this collection, I now know what a rambutan is! The poems are abstract and nostalgic, though occasionally they can be a bit vague for me. I loved how this collection is from the Muslim perspective; I loved the line “the mosque is crystal/ ever changing its color” from the poem “Touring the Shores of Malaysia.” I also liked how the titles of each poem also acted like the first lines of their respective poems. Though there were some slight misspellings, I can feel the passion and nostalgia embedded in these poems. I look forward to reading more of her Islaih’s work.

704880One Hundred Great Books in Haiku – David M. Bader
Rating: Three out of five stars

Some poems made me wrinkle my nose, some poems made me laugh out loud, and most of the poems were mediocre. My favorites were the haiku for “The Scarlet Letter” and “Heart of Darkness” – those were the ones that really made me chuckle audibly.

991197The Complete Persepolis – Marjane Satrapi
Rating: Four out of five stars

I was so torn between giving this book 4 or 5 stars. Ultimately, while my heart was pounding throughout the reading experience, toward the end I found the narrative to be incomplete. I felt the ending of the book could have been different, instead of the final note of sorrow that existed. To me, the book did not feel over by the last page.

Otherwise, this book was amazing. I loved how each chapter seemed at once disjointed and united with the rest of the stories, providing a single narrative of growing up with western ideals in an eastern culture. The narrative was raw, showing humanity for what it is – the shallow, the righteous, the uncertain. Marjane presents her past in a relatable way, as a human who makes mistakes that, although we may not agree with her actions, we are allowed to see her reasoning. The comic book format was easy to read, and I loved the monochromatic scheme with simple artistry and complex themes. The book also acted as a short history of Iran. The reader sees Marjane’s relationship with family, lovers, friends, and God through the eyes of a Muslim woman who loves freedom and holds that value above all else.

295657Bloody Jack – L.A. Meyer, narrated by Katherine Kellgren
Rating: Four out of five stars

I really struggled with how to rate this book. I loved some parts and was invested in the story, but overall I only liked it.

I loved the idea. A girl bettering her life by becoming a ship’s boy for the Royal Navy, hunting pirates? Awesome!

If I didn’t like some aspects, I could understand where the book was coming from due to historical accuracy. This includes gendered stereotypes, victim blaming, and an attitude against homosexuality. While I may not like these, I understand why this was included in the book.

I listened to the audiobook version of this, and the narrator (Katherine Kellgren) is phenomenal. She does various accents, including Scottish, English, Jamaican, and American, while mostly narrating with the Cockney accent. This was my only complaint, for I personally found the Cockney accent very hard to understand. There were many times when I had to rewind a few seconds to decipher a word that I did not quite catch. Toward the end, there is a mention of the ship’s crew intending to gain more ship’s boys from Boston. Considering this is post-Revolutionary-War New England, I find this intent to be unbelievable.

Overall, I enjoyed the book, and am looking forward to further misadventures of Mary “Jack” Faber.

(Note: Since I listened to the audiobook, I’m going off of the page number listed on Goodreads, which is 8.)

Thus ends this year’s Tackle Your To-Be-Read Read-A-Thon.

#TackleTBR
Total books read: 10
Total pages read: 914

 

6 thoughts on “#TackleTBR Wrap-Up

  1. Nice collection of reading for a short span! I’m barely keeping up with my reading goals this year. Hanging on by a fingernail! I saw a few of your reviews of these on Goodreads, and marked a few to-read. I was intrigued by the Mary Faber story because I recently wrote a short story that dealt with a young woman taken on as a crew member for Blackbeard. He had originally sailed with a Captain who had two women in the crew, so he would probably been okay with it. The factual accounts are slim, but fascinating!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! If I’m writing, chances are good I’m not reading. I sent the story to Timeless Tales Magazine for their Snow Queen theme (it’s the Robber girl who joins the crew). If they take it, I’ll put the link up! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

