Poetry

New Poem with ALTARWORK: The Golden Calf has Stars and Stripes

A new poem of mine has been published with the Christian e-magazine ALTARWORK. It is based off of an observation of mine, and I find it’s my duty as a poet to write what I see.

The Golden Calf has Stars and Stripes

I’ve been seeing a lot of what I call flag worship in the media lately. There’s an important distinction between the flag itself and what the country stands for. There is the literal and the figurative. And in the fervor of honoring the figurative, sometimes the literal is turned into an idol, a deity. People seem to be more worried about pledging allegiance to the flag rather than what it stands for.

But let’s break down that phrase: “pledging allegiance.”

A pledge is a vow. An allegiance is a commitment, usually to a superior entity. In pledging allegiance to the flag, one is vowing and promising commitment to an inanimate object. But a Christian has already pledged their allegiance to God.

I will include the following disclaimer: I love America. I am honored that soldiers and veterans sacrificed so much for my freedom. But the flag is an inanimate symbol, and an inanimate symbol cannot grant salvation.

4 thoughts on “New Poem with ALTARWORK: The Golden Calf has Stars and Stripes

Leave a Reply

