Book Review · Reading

#TackleTBR Book Review: Twitterature by Alexander Aciman and Emmett Rensin

Rating: One out of five stars

6991061I know I said in my last blog post that I was going to work more positivity into my book reviews. Please excuse the following blog post, which falls into the category of “I will reserve the negative reviews for books that I really do not like.”

I was expecting satire in the form of 140-character tweets of “Twitter-literature.” I was expecting to laugh, or at least chuckle a little to myself. But no. What seemed to be a good idea evolved into racist, sexist, ableist, homophobic, and pretentious execution.

It starts with the arrogance of the introduction: “We prefer to think of ourselves as modern-day Martin Luthers.” In reality, the book was written by two college freshmen with a remedial understanding of the classics, at best.

This book turned a substantial number of classics into “digestible portions of 20 tweets or fewer” and while marketed as satire, merely came across as “dude-bro” humor. The “tweets” did come across, however, as disgustingly racist, sexist, and ableist (with slurs such as g*y, g*psy, and r*tard). Even if some of these words appear in the classics, the tweets themselves are written with the type of disrespectful “humor” best left in 2009.

The main character of each classic was portrayed by the Twitter handle that they would have had, had they actually tweeted their story. Another seemingly good idea with poor execution. Unlike the Twitter handles mentioned in the book, real handles cannot have punctuation. And don’t even get me started on Helen Keller’s “braille” Twitter handle.

It appears from the first page that the writers confused satire with shock-and-awe value, as the book’s dedication reads thus: “Dedicated in Loving Memory to the Victims of the R.M.S. Titanic.”

As a final note, I would expect a satirical book to understand the content enough to spell the names correctly. A book cannot successfully satirize Harry Potter and his nemesis “Voledemort.”

A disrespectful book full of crude and ignorant humor, which I am more than happy to return to my local library.

Review on Goodreads.
Picture from Goodreads.

This was my fifth book finished for the #TackleTBR, in which I met my goal for the challenge! However, there is one week left for this challenge; can’t wait to read more!

One thought on “#TackleTBR Book Review: Twitterature by Alexander Aciman and Emmett Rensin

Leave a Reply

