Book Review · Reading

#ReadABookDay? More Like #ReadThreeBooksDay!

I am typing this within the last hour of September 6th, 2016 – also known as #ReadABookDay. After seeing the hashtag trending on Twitter during my getting-out-of-bed-ritual, I knew today was going to be a good day for reading. Sandwiched between the #ReadThemAllThon (final blog post coming soon!) and next week’s #TackleTBR, this was a cute little day to read some shorts.

Today is also a special day – the day J.K. Rowling’s three new ebooks (short stories, anecdotes, and information on the wizarding world and the wizards and witches in it!) was released. Two out of my three books read today consisted of these releases.

I started out setting the goal to read five short books today, though I only got around to three, which is still a strong, stable number.

31538614First, I read Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists by J.K. Rowling. While I loved the background information of the characters and their history, the beginning of Umbridge’s past I could not overlook: “As far as we’re concerned, she more than deserved her fate at the hands (hooves?) of the centaurs.” Thus, this book states that a woman (as horrible as she was) deserved to be raped; this was written to be a humorous claim, which seems to make worse the implication.
Rating: Four out of five stars.

21027324.jpgUpon learning that Professor McGonagall was named after a poet considered to be the worst-poet-in-the-history-of-ever, I read The Worst Poet on Earth – William McGonagall, by William McGonagall and edited by Gerald P. Murphy. Honestly, I only purchased this book because I wanted to read the namesake of Professor McGonagall from the Harry Potter series.

It’s no wonder he’s considered to be the worst poet on earth/in history: his poems are swamped with inconstant rhythm, exposition, narration, and simplicity. All events are described with redundant adjectives and useless adverbs.

He often writes about tragedy, but his simplistic style feels almost disrespectful to the souls he tries to pay tribute to. Each such poem has a formula: flat exposition of the tragedy, an empty description of the horrors that took place that is disrespectful in its dryness, a vague Christian anecdote, often concluded with some description of “accidents happen.”

I think his writing bothers me so much because his simple rhymes remind me of the kind of drivel I wrote when I first started writing poetry as a young teenager.

At least he tried.
Rating: Two out of five stars.

31538635The last book I read today was Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies by J.K. Rowling. Even though McGonagall’s history had been previously published on Pottermore, I enjoyed reading it again. (Though at one point, the book states that she “never spoiled nor favoured Harry when he was her student”…then what would one call the gift of the Nimbus 2000?) There was a formatting issue with the sampled poem of William McGonagall, but that’s minor and does not affect the overall quality of the book to me. I enjoyed reading these quick tidbits of the magical world I love so much.
Rating: Five out of five stars.

Generally, I consider every day to be Read a Book Day, if not Read Part of a Book Day. I encourage everyone to read. Reading has been proven to expand the mind, help people be more tolerant, and supply multiple lifetimes’ worth of adventures. I have loved reading my entire life, and I’m glad that such a day as this one was trending.

All pictures from Goodreads.

4 thoughts on “#ReadABookDay? More Like #ReadThreeBooksDay!

Leave a Reply

