Book Review

#ReadThemAllThon Book Review: The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen

ReadThemAllThon-Badge02-Cascader

Rating: Five out of five stars

littlemermaidMy first book that I read for the Pokemon reading challenge is The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen. While the book did not make me cry (oddly enough, the little mermaid herself can’t cry!), it did make my heart quite heavy, and there was certainly enough water mentioned in the book to make up for my lack of tears.

While this version is, on the surface (pun intended), less cheerful than the Disney version, the two are separate stories in their own rights. I can see where Disney borrowed some elements and scaled back on others to make the story more child-friendly, but the original version is a beautiful “tail” in and of itself.

In the Disney version, the little mermaid wants one thing only: to be with the prince. In this version, the little mermaid wants not only the prince, but also what the sacrament of marriage to the prince will give her: a part of his soul, with which she will have a second, immortal life. Heavy on the Christian imagery but not overbearing, The Little Mermaid is a beautiful story of love, sacrifice, and redemption, while wrapping everything up as one would a children’s story.

The imagery was beautiful, though I wish the book had not been written in expository form. Much of it was told rather than shown, though this can be excused since that was the style of writing back then; not to mention that the form is how it would be read to children anyway. Either way, the story flowed seamlessly, and I could imagine it as an entity separate from the Disney movie. My heart was simultaneously heavy and light after reading this story; I am glad to have read it. (Picture from Goodreads.)

According to the rules of the #ReadThemAllThon, my Eevee is now at 71 CP! (Including the +2 CP points for the tweet that will be posted due to the Twitter-WordPress connection.) At 48 pages, Eevee gained 4 CP, plus 20 CP for finishing the book. Add the total count for related tweets, and I’ve updated my trainer card to show the new points and badge! *Strikes Pokemon pose*

TrainerCardCascade

3 thoughts on “#ReadThemAllThon Book Review: The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen

    1. Cool! I’d love to hear what you think of it. It’s a quick read. I love reading the original fairytales behind the Disney remakes. I recently read the original Mulan poem and that was enlightening 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

