Reading

#ReadThemAllThon TBR

ReadThemAllThon

Starting today (technically yesterday) I will be participating in the Pokemon Read-A-Thon hosted by Read at Midnight! Pokemon AND books? Count me in!

The rules are to try to read eight books – one per Pokemon gym badge – from yesterday to September 4th! That’s three weeks of Pokemon-themed marathon reading. Can I do it with my hectic schedule? Let’s find out!

The following TBR list, according to the challenge:

ReadThemAllThon-Badge01-Boulder

For the first book, I will be reading Sword Art Online: Girls’ Ops by Reki Kawahara.

240 pages (24 CP)

ReadThemAllThon-Badge02-Cascader

Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Mermaid might make me cry. At the very least, it features lots of water so at least it’s fitting.

48 pages (4 CP)

ReadThemAllThon-Badge03-Thunder

I’ve been meaning to read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne. The book has sat on my shelf now for almost a month and it’s about time I actually read it before I come across any more spoilers.

401 pages (40 CP)

ReadThemAllThon-Badge04-Rainbow

I’ve been meaning to finish the book The Weight of the Sky by Lisa Ann Sandell, which is about high-schooler Sarah spending the summer on a kibbutz in Israel. I started reading the verse novel last year but it remained on my shelf for a time. While it’s 292 pages, I’ve already read 70 pages. To keep it fair, I’ll subtract 70 from 292 for the amount of legitimate points earned from this book.

(292 – 70 = 222 = 22 CP)

ReadThemAllThon-Badge05-Soul

I will be reading Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer. Simply out of curiosity.

389 pages (38 CP)

ReadThemAllThon-Badge06-Marsh

For this badge, I will be reading Evensong by Krista Walsh. This was originally my pick for the first badge, since it’s the first in the series – which also explains why I started reading it yesterday before I changed my mind (at least these pages still count!).

317 pages (31 CP)

ReadThemAllThon-Badge07-Flame

The book The Fierce Reads Anthology has a red cover, and I’ve been wanting to read this for a little while. However, I had to do the math in terms of page numbers, since this Kindle ebook operates on locations. In total, there are 2261 location points, and 182 pages total. Since “Glitches” by Marissa Meyer (the only short story I’ve read before) is the last in the anthology on location 1927, I had to solve for X to determine which page number this story started on. Turns out it starts on page 155. Since I will be reading through the first 154 pages, only these pages will count.

154 pages (15 CP)

ReadThemAllThon-Badge08-Earth

The novella Anthem by Ayn Rand fits this category. I’m not too excited to read this one, but it’s short, and I have always wanted to at least be familiar with this work. I will be listening to it via Librivox.

CP Points: The Explanation

So what’s up with the CP count? CP stands for Combat Power, which is a figure of power measurement in Pokemon Go. Along the way, points will be gained for the Pokemon of my choice. This pokemon starts at 10 CP, which will increase – to evolve at 150 CP. My chosen pokemon starts at 14 CP, since I tweeted #ReadThemAllThon twice yesterday.

TrainerCard1

How CP points are calculated:

  • +2 CP per tweet (maximum 200 points)
  • +5 CP per tweeted picture of chosen book with Pokemon (via Pokemon Go) (maximum 100 points)
  • Page numbers divided by 10 = 100 pages equals 10 CP points
  • +20 CP per book finished
  • +20 CP per related book review posted on this blog

As I progress through reading, my Eevee will grow stronger! What will it evolve into? We’ll find out!

For more information and to sign up for your own Pokemon reading adventure, click here.

6 thoughts on “#ReadThemAllThon TBR

Leave a Reply

