Blogging

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 14

15-Day-Challenge

Day #14: Tell us your deal breakers.

I was an English major. My degree is in English: Professional Writing. Basically, if a book has bad grammar, punctuation, sentence structure, lack of characterization and plot development, or next to no fact-checking, I give books a low rating. If it has all of these, it is an immediate one star rating. I rate every book I read on Goodreads, and I tend to give an average of three or four stars. I try to finish every book I start, even if it takes me some time to trudge through it.

I have read books that have mistaken Puritans and pilgrims; I have read historical nonfiction books without citations; I have read a series that was written in a single summer without any editing; I have read books that would probably face copyright issues if certain companies knew their brand was included in certain publications. And* yet, these books are a guilty pleasure for me. I can’t get enough of them. Usually, I tend to read books with a higher standard, but sometimes I can’t resist a terrible book.

* Yes, I’m aware that it is grammatically incorrect to begin a sentence with a conjunction. I do it anyway because I’m a rebel.

3 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 14

Leave a Reply

