Blogging

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 1

15-Day-Challenge

Day #1: Make 15 book related confessions.

  1. When I was 5 years old, I approached my mom and demanded that she teach me how to read. What brought this on? I was watching Arthur on TV and I was jealous that a cartoon character had the ability to read before me.
  2. When I was 6 years old, my book review of Owly by Mike Thaler was published in the local newspaper after I won the library’s writing contest. I was told by the librarian beforehand that I shouldn’t even bother entering the contest because I was too young to understand it.
  3. I can’t stand rereading books. There are so many books out there, that once I read a book, I almost never pick it up again. Very few books are the exception.
  4. I love writing notes in the margins of my own copies. #EnglishMajor
  5. I don’t mind dog-earing pages of my own copies.
  6. Six Bibles are on my bookshelf, almost all in different translations. They each came into my life in different ways.
  7. I’m currently reading the Bible (NASB) on my phone through the app She Reads Truth. It’s supposed to be a daily reading, but I’m always falling behind.
  8. The Quran is on my to-read list.
  9. I once borrowed some manga from a friend in high school; I lost the book shortly after, only to find it on the floor – my dog pawing at the cover, scratching it all over. My friend was NOT happy, and I still feel terrible about it to this day, over 11 years later.
  10. Confession #9 is the reason I don’t trust myself borrowing another person’s book.
  11. I’m a slow reader. I find myself rereading the same sentences over and over again to get an accurate image of what I’m reading.
  12. I either binge-read or take forever to finish a book. Some books I finish within a week, but others – even if they’re a favorite – can take months for me to finish.
  13. When I was a kid, my mom would read the Nancy Drew series to me every night.
  14. When I was a kid, I always looked forward the library’s summer reading program.
  15. I’m awful with book clubs. I join them and get the book – but then I don’t make the time to read them.
4 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 1

Leave a Reply

