Blogging

Cherished Blogfest #CBF16: My Engagement Ring

It’s that time of year again! I signed up for the 2016 Cherished Blogfest. When I first sat down to write this post, I had no idea how I was going to top last year’s post on my late father’s journal. But then I realized that I didn’t have to top anything.

cherished-badge16

Each cherished object is so in its own way; while my father’s journal is one of my most cherished objects because of its tangible relationship to a man I so dearly miss, there are plenty of other cherished objects that are cherished in their own way. This year, my chosen cherished object is my engagement ring.

ringThis picture made its first appearance on this blog’s first post. My fiancé proposed in October of 2014 under the stars, and we are to be married February 2017.

When people first saw my ring, their first questions were “Where’s the diamond?” or “Where’s the ring?” while looking right at it! This ring is not the typical princess-cut diamond with a silver band; while those are beautiful, this is a unique ring that fits our unique relationship. Neither of us are fans of tradition, so having rings that don’t fit the mold are perfect for us.

I had first gotten the idea of a Claddagh ring as an engagement ring after reading the book The Realm of Possibility by David Levithan, and I mentioned the notion to my fiancé. He agree that it was a cute idea. That September, I took a trip to Massachusetts. My fiancé told me that while I was gone, he missed me so much that he realized he never wanted to live a life without me. Two weeks before Halloween, he bought me a pumpkin (which I spent three hours carving – unaware of his plans – wondering why he looked so nervous!) and we went outside, under the stars, while I was still completely unaware of the ring in his pocket.

My ring is a 10K yellow gold band with an amethyst, and was personalized through Kay’s options. My fiancé chose this color scheme because my favorite movie is Disney’s Tangled and is loosely based off of this ring.13580376_10154278270133627_1856391494348547808_o

My fiancé also has his own engagement ring, and we got it to match mine. These rings will also be our wedding rings, not only to save money, but to keep the consistency of the sentimentality between the engagement and the marriage:

13568830_10154278275093627_2642554651944207462_o

These rings are currently placed on our fingers with the point of the heart facing out on our left hands- following Claddagh tradition, once we are married, the hearts will face inward to signify our union. These rings mean friendship, love, and loyalty, and these three values are what we want to bring into the marriage – and these rings signify them.

 

9 thoughts on “Cherished Blogfest #CBF16: My Engagement Ring

  1. The rings look lovely! And it’s nice to know that when you look down at your finger, at the ring, you not only see a unique engagement ring, but you’ll remember the book you read that inspired it and also your favourite Disney movie! One ring, many memories. Truly a cherished object 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

