Poetry

The Influences of “Tableau Vivant”

tableaucoverMy chapbook Tableau Vivant was published six months ago – half a year already! – and I wanted to share the influential factors involved during the writing process. Music, myths, and books – everything I love is behind this chapbook’s history.

Music

Bob Dylan
Bob Dylan is the soundtrack of the poem “Twenty-Second,” focusing on my thoughts as a 22-year-old just out of college and cruising into the big world.

Panic! At the Disco
The poem “The Underworld is Hosting a Ball” was written as I listened to the band’s first album A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out, mainly the song “These Tables Are Numbered, Honey, You Just Haven’t Thought of It Yet.”

Stories

Books that contain tableau scenes as a practiced art form:
The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux
This story was also an influential factor in the poem “The Underworld is Hosting a Ball.”

Greek mythology: Persephone/Hades/Demeter
The mythology of these characters is a prominent theme, as referenced in the poems “Death of a Butterfly” and – again – “The Underworld is Hosting a Ball.”

Other

Feminism
My feminist ideals can be found in the poem “Womanperson.”

Nature
Flora is mentioned in almost every poem, usually relating to the narrator. Winged insects also meet their macabre end in two separate poems.

When these influences came together and synthesized with my own perceptions and experiences, my chapbook was born. You can find it on the Dancing Girl Press shop.

What influences your writing?

2 thoughts on “The Influences of “Tableau Vivant”

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever thought about what influenced my writing. Seeing how some of my stories involve chance encounters, I would say the “Before” movies (Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, and Before Midnight) influenced me. (Side note: I have yet to see the third one. It’s on my list.)

    Like

    1. That’s interesting! I love knowing the “Why” behind what people do. As a writer, I find that questioning where my own writing is coming from helps piece together where the story is going.

      Like

Leave a Reply

