Poetry

New Poem & the Fate of Camp NaNoWriMo

Well, it is May. And Camp NaNoWriMo was officially put on the back burner for the sake of grad school. But I’m okay with that. I set multiple goals last month – and it’s better to meet some of them than none at all.

In April, I got two poems published by the Christian e-magazine ALTARWORK. I finished a small chapbook of poems that I am looking forward to submitting next month. Overall, I wrote 8,000 words last month (minus the project and final word counts for my class). That’s 8,000 more than I had before last month. So, all in all, I’m looking at the bright side. I am 2/3 of the way through my program (4 classes left!) and that took precedent.

Anyway, the newest poem published on ALTARWORK is called “Water Shimmers” and is based on a true slice of my life. I was on a short boat ride and looked out onto the surface of the water, and I heard a voice whisper in my heart that God’s love for all people is the same love I had in that moment for every shimmer on the water. It’s a short poem, but for me, this subject matter will always be memorable.

Did you participate in Camp NaNoWriMo?

2 thoughts on “New Poem & the Fate of Camp NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

