Feminism · Reading

#FeminismFriday 10/10.) Further Reading

ff10While this series only acknowledged the basics of feminism, there is a whole genre of literature to explore that goes more in-depth in the feminist movement than a series of blog posts ever could. Note that I am only listing books that I have read; as I would not recommend to someone a book that I have never opened.

Nonfiction:
Feminism: A Very Short Introduction – Margaret Walters
We Should All Be Feminists – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
A Room of One’s Own – Virginia Woolf
White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Backpack – Peggy McIntosh
Men Explain Things to Me – Rebecca Solnit
Dear White People – Justin Simien
The Purity Myth: How American’s Obsession with Virginity is Hurting Young Women – Jessica Valenti
The Vagina Monologues – Eve Ensler

Fiction:
The Yellow Wallpaper – Charlotte Perkins Gilman
To the Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf
Feminist Fables – Suniti Namjoshi

Poetry:
Diving into the Wreck – Adrienne Rich
Phenomenal Woman: Four Poems Celebrating Women – Maya Angelou
The Selected Poetry of Edna St. Vincent Millay – Edna St. Vincent Millay

Feminist Poets:
Maya Angelou
Sylvia Plath
Adrienne Rich
Anne Sexton
Sappho

If you would like, here is my Goodreads shelf of books that I’ve read on feminism or those that are feminist. If you’re like me, (and I like to rate everything on Goodreads!) then you’ll like to know that everything on this list is listed in the Goodreads database.

On a final note, feminism is simply about equality. It is not its stereotypes, anyone can be a feminist, and it is needed for a future with an equal society.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the #FeminismFriday series as much as I have! If you have any questions, feel free to leave them in the comments!

One thought on “#FeminismFriday 10/10.) Further Reading

  1. I loved a Room of One’s Own, and The Yellow Wallpaper—they’ve actually both been school texts over the last two semesters and I’ve been so delighted with reading them! 🙂 I haven’t yet read the rest of these, but I know for sure that there’s some Sylvia Plath and Maya Angelou in my future, and I think I’ll just be making space on my TBR for more of these. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

