Writing

NaNoWriMo: Week 4

NaNo-2015-Winner-Badge-Large-SquareThe last week of NaNoWriMo has seen the spectrum from hopelessness to determination. I was so far behind on my word count that I wondered why I should go on. As an ML (Municipal Liaison, a fancy term for NaNoWriMo community volunteer), I felt that quitting was not an option. So I stuck with it, and I’m glad I did.

Some things I did to get me through the week:

  • Motivated myself with snacks
  • Tuesday’s Virtual Write-In on Twitter
  • Followed the #NaNoWriMo hashtag
  • Wrote whenever I could (including car rides on Thanksgiving – shotgun seat writing!)

On Tuesday, I wrote my personal best of 5,083 words in a day. I was still behind the day’s word count goal, but I made significant progress. This week in particular was especially tough, as I was balancing not only NaNoWriMo and grad school, but Thanksgiving week as well! The schedule was hectic to get used to, and I had twice the amount of Thanksgivings this year (my family and the fiancé’s family!).

And in the fastest November ever, NaNoWriMo came and went just like that! (Just imagine me snapping my fingers!) I won with 50,132 words, and I’m only halfway through this novel. It was tough, but rewarding.

For further reading, here is the blog post from last year’s fourth week of NaNoWriMo and the last blog post from NaNoWriMo 2014.

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Week 4

Leave a Reply

