Writing

NaNoWriMo: Week 3

This month has been so busy, I almost forgot to post an update blog from last week! NaNoWriMo Week 3 was difficult, but I made it through with the help of my local NaNoWriMo community.

I have said this before and I will continue to say this until forever ends: the writing community is one of the friendliest, most supportive communities I’ve ever met. Whether it’s on Twitter, Facebook, or the NaNo forums, I have always seen communication of support from writers to writers.

Week 3 watched me almost fall so far behind, I thought of giving up. But thanks to my wonderful writing friends, I stuck with it to continue on to Week 4. Here are some tactics I used to get through the third NaNo week:

  • Write-In at the local bank (Most unexpected place I’ve ever written in!)
  • Write-In at a local college
  • Write-In at one of my favorite bookstores
  • Followed the #NaNoWriMo hashtag on Twitter

These Write-Ins were the only reasons my word count stayed afloat, since I am balancing this challenge alongside grad school. I never attended Write-Ins last year, but I wish I had. Write-Ins are the perfect balance of support and friendly competition! I’ve also met some great people.

For further reading, here is the blog post from last year’s third week of NaNoWriMo.

Are you doing NaNoWriMo? How is your novel coming along?

Leave a Reply

