Writing

NaNoWriMo 2015: 2nd Week

I am balancing NaNoWriMo with grad school, and it’s proving to be tough. My studies are priority, so my word count suffered this week. As I try to find balance, I am playing catch-up, but in the meantime, I’m trying to be confident in both my writing and my schoolwork.

This past week, I didn’t do much writing. I spent most of my afternoons in the library studying; and the one day I wasn’t studying, I met one of my favorite authors, Marissa Meyer. However, here are the things I did do:

  • Followed the #NaNoWriMo hashtag on Twitter even on days I didn’t write
  • Attended Saturday night’s Write-In and wrote 2,020 words
  • Skipped around my novel to write the scenes sticking out in my head
  • Used Twitter to log my progress

But the world was hit with something bigger than the second week of NaNoWriMo, with the tragedies that happened in Lebanon, Mexico, Japan, and Paris on November 13th. In regards to Paris, I read about something that truly touched my heart.

In the midst of the terror attacks in Paris, there was a NaNoWriMo Write-In. People were there. The writers could hear the chaos of the sirens in their area. Due to the nature of the night’s events, they were on lockdown. And they kept writing.

Screenshot 2015-11-15 22.11.23

From the France NaNoWriMo forum:

The wrimos from the write-in in Paris are safe. I am very proud of the calm and the humor they had during this difficult time.

Thank you to the wrimos from all over the world for your support !

We are safe and we will keep it calm, kind and use our words and our pen before the terror.”

It just goes to show how NaNoWriMo and the act of writing can bring safety to people amidst terror. This event is so inspiring, and I am in awe knowing that NaNoWriMo helped Parisians get through the tragic acts of terrorism. The Parisian spirit represents artistry and revolution amidst the cruelty of the world, and the act of writing was a brave act in and of itself. My heart goes out to those who were affected by the attacks of Paris.

As always, I wish this counted toward the word count total. Follow this link to see last year’s post on Week 2 of NaNoWriMo.

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015: 2nd Week

  1. Hi Amanda! I totally understand what you’re going through but on a smaller level since I’m an undergrad. I’m currently 10k words behind but I’m not upset because I’m so proud that I got this far.

    The attacks in Paris broke my heart and to see the strength that not only the WriMos, but the entire country has is truly inspiring! You worded what I feel beautifully ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! My accounting class is definitely taking time away from NaNo, but I need to keep priorities balanced.

      As I wrote in the post, I was absolutely in awe. The NaNoWriMo community is one of the friendliest and most supportive communities I’ve ever met, and the fact that writing kept them focused on something other than the outside terrors is a moment that should be a footnote in history.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

