Blogging

The Book Courtship Book Tag

I have been tagged by the awesome Travelling in My Bookcase for the Book Courtship Book Tag! Round of applause for them! The Book Courtship Book Tag was created by LovelyLikeLaura.

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

Cinder

Cyborg leg in a fashionable heel with beautiful font? Count me in! This cover is so intriguing. Who is standing there? Why is her skin translucent? Why is her skeleton metallic? This cover drew me in so I could find out the answers to these questions.

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

22059095

I love cupcakes, I love trinkets, and I love magic. I tend to choose which books to read based on the summary, so choosing just one book for this answer was difficult. This ended up becoming another favorite of mine, as it has witches, vampires, werewolves, and zombies, while avoiding the general cliches that plague those topics.

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

63953

Francesca Lia Block’s writing is a sublime synthesis of prose and metaphor. Primavera is a new take on Greek mythology that includes magic, singing, and a carnival-esque city with a dark secret.

Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?
Cinder

Marissa Meyer’s series The Lunar Chronicles has everything in it that I didn’t know I needed on my bookshelf – love, war, lost princesses, cyborgs, and RAPUNZEL! The first book, Cinder, focuses on Cinderella and starts the adventure that is up there with Harry Potter and The Hunger Games. The third book in the series, Cress, has since become my favorite book.

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

18626858

I don’t know why, but for some reason, I avoided this series when it first came out. Perhaps I thought it was an over-hyped series that would turn out to be overrated. I discovered that this was not the case, and after being invited to the midnight release of the first movie, I gave it a chance and could not put it down. I don’t remember my dreams often, but I remember having at least three dreams about being in the Hunger Games (I won two and lost one, FYI). I would stay up late reading not only this book, but the entire trilogy. I was enthralled.

Phase 6 – Always On My Mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

13206828

Cress, the third installment of The Lunar Chronicles; Rapunzel’s story. I love anything to do with Rapunzel, and this retelling sticks very closely to the original fairytale – blindness, desert wastelands, and a glamorous ball. This has become one of my favorite series, and with the last book coming out in November, I can’t stop thinking about what an amazing series this is. I simultaneously don’t want it to end but I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

411H+731ZzL

I couldn’t choose just one, so I found a loophole and went with it. I love how my Kindle feels. When I read from it, I take it out of its protective casing. It feels so hi-tech and fragile between my fingers. The back is softer than the front, and the buttons feel so cute to press.

Phase 8 – Meeting the Parents: A book which you would recommend to your family and friends?

Cinder

Sensing a theme yet? I recommend this book (and series!) to EVERYONE. All the friends! All the family! All the readers! Science fiction, adventure, romance, ballgowns, dashing princes and handsome rogues, all led by strong female characters who are brave enough to lead a revolution IN SPACE!

Phase 9 – Thinking About the Future: A book or series you know you will reread many times in the future?

series

Seriously. The Lunar Chronicles. Marissa Meyer. Read them.

Phase 10 – Share the Love: Who do you tag?

Alexandra Corinth
Megan Manzano
A Comfy Chair In the Corner
Romance Novels for the Beach
Jenny in Neverland
Kate M. Colby

Pictures from Goodreads and Amazon.
Series picture from Carina.

5 thoughts on “The Book Courtship Book Tag

Leave a Reply

