Reading

Tackle Your TBR Read-A-Thon! #TackleTBR

Tackle-Your-TBR-2015This morning, I heard about the Tackle Your TBR Read-A-Thon challenge. The challenge is to read as much as possible in two weeks, from today to September 27th. (Sign-up is until September 23rd – if you’re interested in taking on this challenge, you can find the information here.)

What is a TBR list? A list of books to be read. I thought to myself – “Sure, I have about a hundred books on my TBR list, I can shave off some titles in two weeks.” At least I was right on one account – I can shave off some titles in two weeks. My estimation was a little off. And by a little, I mean over two hundred.

This prompted me to not rely on my TBR list guesstimate, so I did what any sane person would logically do and counted every book on my TBR list, obsessing over every literary outlet.

Bedroom bookshelf: 92
Living room bookshelf: 63
Kindle: 80
Kindle iPhone app: 34
Nook iPhone app: 3
Librivox iPhone app: 21
iBooks iPhone app: 10
Books I need to buy: 7
Wattpad: 1

As you can see, the result is 311 books. 311.

Three hundred and eleven books. That’s not even including any books packed away and forgotten, books on my Amazon wishlist, those that friends have offered me to read, the five chapbooks I ordered, or the plethora of manga I want to read (but have yet to purchase!)

This number motivated me to join the challenge. My primary goal is to read at least 5 books. If I finish 5 books, I will attempt to reach 11 books (to make an even 300) but I won’t sweat it if I don’t make the secondary goal.

If you want to take this challenge with me, feel free to join! I feel like my list is never-ending, but if I can finish at least 5 books between balancing my almost-marriage, my full-time job, and my graduate class in two weeks, then that’s 5 books off my TBR list. I’m ready to tackle my TBR!

4 thoughts on “Tackle Your TBR Read-A-Thon! #TackleTBR

    1. Wow! I didn’t think of it like that! I need to learn to read in the moment and enjoy the books currently being read, rather than focus on the rest to check off. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

