Book Review

Book Review: You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

Rating: Five out of five stars

felicia dayI was introduced to the talent of Felicia Day through her character Charlie on the series Supernatural. I was so enamored with her character that I sought out her webseries The Guild, and later, her part as Penny in Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog. I enjoyed her work, so when I found out she wrote a memoir, I was ecstatic.

And I was not disappointed. I found understanding between the book’s pages. The homeschooled, perfectionist, anxiety-ridden writer read about the homeschooled, perfectionist, anxiety-ridden writer. The gamer read about the gamer. Our experiences with homeschooling included an endless amount of extracurricular activities, and the striving for perfection in each one, leading to perfectionism in the college years. I could connect with this book on multiple levels, enhancing my reading experience.

Day’s memoir covers her childhood, her internet gaming addiction, her rise to internet fame, and #GamerGate, with the overall theme of her anxiety and perfectionism. Her writing is relatable and the book itself is a light read. I recommend this book to fans to Felicia Day and her work.

This review can also be found on Goodreads.
Picture from Goodreads.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

  1. I really appreciate her as an actress and person: everything from Dr. Horrible to The Guild. She’s even gotten me to buy a few board games when she was on some of Wil Wheaton’s tabletop shows on Youtube. This book looks great. Thanks for the review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

