Writing

Camp NaNoWriMo July 2015

This Camp NaNoWriMo session was so different from the others, but I learned so much, most notably how to not confine myself.

Title: Scriptica (continued), Cybarchae, Third Project, and a 900-word blog post
Genre: Fantasy and Science Fiction
Description: Continuing to write my NaNoWriMo 2014 novel, started a novella, and started a poem with the intent to finish it in August.
Goal: 17,500 words
Total: About 18,000 words

Screenshot 2015-07-31 16.51.06This graphic is misleading, since I wrote in longhand for most of the month and neglected to log in my daily word count. The word count consists of the finishing touches of my NaNoWriMo 2014 novel, the beginnings of a new novella, a project for my massive open online course, and a blog post that was over 900 words. The blog post will be posted next week.

Week 1: This project first started as only Cybarchae. Never have I felt so stuck on the first day. Since this is my first attempt at SF, things were rocky from the beginning. This story involves the digital archaeology. Double the world-building! Couple that with epistolary format, and the result is a tough start. For the entirety of month to that point, all I wanted to do was finish my NaNoWriMo 2014 novel. On Day 5, I edited my project to incorporate both the old and the new. With one section of my novel left to write, and most of that section handwritten (written from the last week of June to the beginning of July), I added the handwritten word count to the month’s goal. Just call me a Camp NaNoWriMo rebel!

Week 2: I gave up on Cybarchae to focus on Scriptica. By “focus” I mean listening to music that pumped me up without actually writing. I discovered the video game Dragon Age: Origins, which basically meant that all writing sessions went out the window.

Week 3: Got a little writing done; finished one of the two remaining scenes of Scriptica (I split the parts up by scenes at this point). The climax of Scriptica still remained unwritten.

Week 4: With Dragon Age: Origins completed, my time became dedicated to writing again – until I started playing Dante’s Inferno. This week was also the start of my Massive Open Online Course: Stunt Writing for Personal Growth. Through this, I started writing Third Project (which is a working title).

The music the writer listens to (should they choose to listen to music) is almost just as important as the project they’re writing. Since I spent so little time on Cybarchae, I didn’t listen to the music I originally planned to. Scriptica has its own playlist, and Third Project involves the song “Come With Me Now” by Kongos.

This month, I learned to be more flexible with my projects. If a project isn’t quite working for me at that time, I learned that it’s okay to change it to work on something that does interest me. I do not need to confine myself in the name of keeping my projects in order. I learned that it’s okay for my projects to be unorganized. This does not mean I am not invested in my work – it just means my interests fluctuate, and that’s normal. This month, I only wanted to finish what I started back in November. I accomplished that and am happy to have had the experience of participating – and winning – another session of Camp NaNoWriMo.

5 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo July 2015

Leave a Reply

