Blogging

Cherished Blogfest: My Father’s Journal

We invite you to talk to us about one of your cherished objects. Tell us what it is, post a picture of it if you like, and tell us why you cherish it.” – Daily (w)rite

cherished-blogfest1

My bookshelf carries my favorite books and trinkets – a Magic 8 Ball, an artist mannequin, even a “Muggles for Harry Potter” button from the late 90s – but its most important item is my father’s journal.

I didn’t know this object existed until around high school. My father died when I was four years old, so I only got to know him through the eyes of a child.

8OdyeypXVVGYDBUt0PE9gNpQZRQL4CxSnFVKx5S2FiIWritten between 1986 and 1994, this cherished object is the only way I can connect with my dad as an adult. Through this journal, I found out he was a Doctor Who fan! (I wonder what he would think of Eleven, my favorite Doctor?) There are poems, musings, and direct thoughts from when my dad was in his twenties. Now that I am a bit younger than he was when he wrote in this book, I feel honored with the experience of getting to know my father as a kind of long-distance pen-pal.

If my soul, my spirit were to be stereotyped, I suppose an artist would be the closest.”

The themes in his journal include insights, self-inspection, his Catholic faith, and his passions, which included sailing, writing, and photography. I remember reading his poetry for the first time. I felt a connection with him in a way that transcends tangible existence. Poetry is a way we can connect.

There is one quote in his journal that simultaneously comforts me and sends chills up my spine.

Should I ever die…come down and find me…I’ll be the seagull that is flying the breezes towards the sun!! You won’t have to talk either, just be there…I’ll know…I will understand.”

44 thoughts on “Cherished Blogfest: My Father’s Journal

  1. Hey. I hope you are wonderful today. Thank you for participating in the #Cherished blogfest. I have enjoyed reading about your father’s journal. I particularly like the quote: “If my soul, my spirit were to be stereotyped, I suppose an artist would be the closest.”
    Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you; this was a great experience! Thank you for hosting this blogfest. When I saw that the theme was about a cherished item, I knew immediately which item I would write about.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Amanda….yours was the first “cherish”: piece I’ve read…what beginner’s luck for me!!! I hope you’ve seen your seagull fly by! Thank you for getting my day off to a great start!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I can’t help but think of him whenever I see a seagull. He loved photography – he once took the most beautiful photograph of a seagull silhouetted against the sun. Glad to see you enjoyed my post! I hope you continue to have a good day!

      Like

  3. I loved the way you put down your feelings. I lost my father when I was a teen, so I do remember him, but I still miss him in my own way. I can certainly understand why this is the most cherished object in your life. Thanks for the participation.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a wonderful way to find snippets of your father; to understand something about him in his own words. My Dad has not written iften during my lifetime, but I save every scrap of his handwriting because it is a piece of him I can touch when I no longer have him (90th birthday in a couple months!)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! My father is a wonderful, satirical writer but he has never taken it up. It’s my family’s loss fir sure, and one reason I decided I owe it to my grandkids to do so.

        I am so glad you found your father’s notebook, including the lovely poems.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

