Writing

A Challenge on a Challenge

stuntwritingchallengesparklerIt’s the fourth week of Camp NaNoWriMo, and I am yet unsure of my word count because I have been writing in longhand. I ditched my initial project, recognizing its need for further outlining, world building, and thought before I can continue. I am almost done my NaNoWriMo 2014 novel (one scene left!), so that will be the bulk of this month’s word count. Because I like to torture myself, I have given myself a challenge on top of a challenge: The Stunt Writing Challenge.

What is The Stunt Writing Challenge? It’s a MOOC (“an MOOC” if you pronounce each letter in the acronym) where I will dedicate myself to performing a stunt for a little over a month to augment my writing. One of my stunts will be meditating while writing a personal project. I have yet to think of others if I need more than one. The class starts today and ends August 24th.

MOOCs are Massive Open Online Courses. It’s in the form of a free college course but with no official college credit. These types of classes are for people who find the reward in learning itself rather than collecting official qualifications. I anticipate the personal reward in learning for learning’s sake.

Since I will be working on this project as well, whatever I write for this course in the remaining days of July will be added to my Camp NaNoWriMo word count. I have not been as dedicated to Camp NaNoWriMo as in past sessions; at this point I will be happy if I just finish the last scene of my NaNoWriMo 2014 novel.

But I digress; more information on the MOOC I am partaking in can be found on MemoirClass.

How are your projects going?

Leave a Reply

