Writing

Writer’s Block and the Muse

It’s Day 8 of Camp NaNoWriMo, and I feel as if I am losing my will to write.

I haven’t felt writer’s block in years. To tell you the truth, I tried not to believe writer’s block existed. I figured, “If I write something every day, then I can’t possibly get writer’s block.” I thought it was something I could fight against easily, like a head cold.

Digging deeper, writer’s block feels like apathy.

I started Camp NaNoWriMo writing a project I was excited about a month ago – except this time, I’m not excited about it. I’m not connected to the story. I didn’t do enough research. I didn’t do enough world building. And it made me feel like a writer not worth my salt.

To combat this, I edited my project with the flexibility to work on the project I actually wanted to embrace – my NaNoWriMo 2014 novel. I have two scenes left to write, and it’s a struggle. Did I do enough world building? Are my characters’ relationships believable? Is anything I write believable?

So why am I feeling this way?

Writer’s block comes from a place of doubt. Most of my doubt is rooted in my anxiety, so I know it starts there. Anxiety branches out into doubt which branches out into writer’s block. I feel I should be in a place right now where I’m not. I feel my writing should already be in a place where it’s not. I feel as if I’m falling behind.

Which is why I’m writing this to help not only myself, but every writer reading this. Imagine every doubt about your writing is said by someone that annoys you. Give your writer’s block a face. And tell those doubts straight to its face that they will not win.

And that’s exactly what I’ll do. I will not let these feelings of apathy consume me. I will tell writer’s block that it has no power over me.

I will not wait for inspiration to find me. I am my own muse.

And this is a promise to you, reader, that you will see a post this month about my novel, completed.

7 thoughts on “Writer’s Block and the Muse

  1. I hope you get past this ❤

    On the back of the notebook I'm currently using for planning my NaNo, there's a quote: "Don't wait for the muse. She has a lousy work ethic. Writers just write." –Barbara Kingsolver. I thought it was relevant :3

    Good luck, from one WriMo to another.

    Like

      1. I actually switched projects a few days in because I was having issues with my first one, too xD I’m now working on an urban fantasy in which a vampire runs a supernatural halfway house and a sound elemental is trying not to get killed by mafia goons. What’s your project? /new to the blog

        Like

      2. That sounds so cool! It’s my NaNo 2014 novel about scribes, or people who can wield magic from pens. There’s a secret society and war and romance and I can’t wait for it to be over! Haha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

