Poetry · Questionnaire

Blog Questionnaire for Poets

April marks this year’s National Poetry Month (NaPoMo)! This is the month when some decide to write a poem a day. Other ideas for this month include studying a poet or learning about a new poetic form. This month, I plan on creating blackout poetry. In honor of this month, I made a blog questionnaire for those who love poetry!

 Blog Questionnaire for Poets

  1. What inspires your poetry?
  2. What main themes can be found in your poems?
  3. Who is your favorite poet?
  4. Who is your least favorite poet?
  5. What is your favorite type of poem?
  6. What is your definition of a poet? Do you consider yourself a poet?
  7. Do you consider music, including mainstream music like pop, as poetry?
  8. When did you start writing poetry?
  9. What are your favorite lyrical tactics to use (alliteration, parallelism, etc.)?
  10. How has poetry affected your life?

Here are my own answers:

What inspires your poetry?

At the risk of sounding cliché, my life perceptions and experiences help form my poetry.

What main themes can be found in your poems?

I like to merge my world view with feminism, fairy tales, and mythology.

Who is your favorite poet?

Emily Dickinson. I also love Anne Bradstreet, Sappho, and Edna St. Vincent Millay.

Who is your least favorite poet?

William Wordsworth. I find his piece “Preface to Lyrical Ballads” to be arrogant. The entire essay is basically a document he wrote on how to read his poetry and that has always felt self-aggrandizing to me.

What is your favorite type of poem?

I love the simplicity of the haiku, though I am a sucker for Dickinson’s use of ABAB rhyme scheme. When writing, I tend to stick to free-form.

What is your definition of a poet? Do you consider yourself a poet?

I define a poet as someone who writes poetry. However, I do not call or consider myself a poet because I believe the title of “poet” is something that others should bestow upon someone, rather than that person introducing themselves as one.

Do you consider music, including mainstream music like pop, as poetry?

Definitely. I don’t care if it’s “Nights in White Satin” by The Moody Blues or “Beez in the Trap” by Nicki Minaj; if it is a lyric, it is a poem.

When did you start writing poetry?

I wrote some poetry throughout my childhood while I was homeschooled; I didn’t pick up writing poetry as a hobby until I was fourteen years old to cope with the move from Massachusetts to Florida.

What are your favorite lyrical tactics to use (alliteration, parallelism, etc.)?

I like to mix traditional aesthetic with newfangled quirkiness. Sometimes I’ll use alliteration, though I prefer consonance.

How has poetry affected your life?

Poetry was my gateway to writing fiction. Poems became longer and the projects became longer until I finally decided to write novellas, which then grew to my first novel. My interest and practice of poetry also helped me be a better student, growing in areas of critical reading and analysis.

Answer these questions on your blog and link back or comment here; I’d love to read them!

2 thoughts on “Blog Questionnaire for Poets

Leave a Reply

