Poetry

April Poetry Challenge

Every year I like to do something for April, which is both National Poetry Month and Camp NaNoWriMo. Last April I focused on my writing, and the April before, I focused on graduating. Before then, I tried to write a poem a day for the month. While I will be writing a novella for Camp NaNoWriMo this April, I will also challenge myself to do something every day that I have only done a handful of times before: blackout poetry.

Also called creative destruction, blackout poetry is the process of turning a collection of many words into a collection of fewer words as an art form. The result is a poem or song lyric, and the process is considered rejuvenating and therapeutic. By eliminating words in a paragraph (or cluster of words) via Wite-Out, paint, or a black permanent marker, a poem can be found. Such poetry is usually made from a newspaper.

I read Austin Kleon’s Newspaper Blackout a few weeks ago (it’s only 99 cents on Amazon Kindle; I highly recommend it!) and I fell in love with the format. Poetry really is everywhere, and I just think that’s beautiful.

This is how I choose to celebrate National Poetry Month. Every scanned poem will be posted on the day it is done, except weekend poems, which will be posted on the queue. Be prepared for the daily sharpie-covered blog posts!

Leave a Reply

