Reading

In Which I Went Somewhere New and Old

Yesterday, something happened that made me extremely happy; almost sublime. I got a library card.

I just moved to my current area, and while I had a card for the county of my previous residence, I didn’t have one for the new area.

Holding that library card in my hand made me remember what it felt like to visit the library as a child. I have always loved libraries, from their summer reading programs to their free books!

I have always felt at peace in a library. Surrounded by books and quiet calm, I feel I can really exist. Exploring the foreign but familiar shelves with card in hand made me feel like I was experiencing an ancient world for the first time.

Then I did something I haven’t done for years. I checked out a book.

The last time I walked into a library unaffiliated with a college or university was in 2013. I don’t remember the last time I checked out a book.

For those of you who are curious, I checked out Classic Haiku: The Greatest Japanese Poetry from Basho, Buson, Issa, Shiki, and Their Followers by Tom Lowenstein.

The environment of a library, and even reading in general, calms my nerves. I feel so comfortable and safe in a library, and even though I have piles of books on my shelves and Kindle, I can’t wait to go back to the library.

2 thoughts on “In Which I Went Somewhere New and Old

  1. Libraries truly are a magical place. Thank you for this post — it was nice to think of that feeling for a moment during the work day. (It’s also a reminder that I will be needing a new library card when I move in a few months!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

