Questionnaire · Writing

Blog Questionnaire for Writers

A big month is coming up! April is not only National Poetry Month (NaPoMo), but it’s also 2015’s first session of Camp National Novel Writing Month (Camp NaNoWrimo)! With a month of writing fast approaching, March is usually reserved for planning such events. Whether it’s outlining your spring manuscript or planning what poems you want to write a day, March is a time for writers to do some literary spring cleaning.

In honor of this month’s preparation, I made a blog questionnaire for writers!

Blog Questionnaire for Writers

  1. What are your five favorite books?
  2. What authors influence you?
  3. What music inspires you?
  4. Conduct an interview with the protagonist of your current work-in-progress.
  5. Have you ever participated in a NaNoWriMo event (including Camp NaNoWriMo)? How was your experience?
  6. Why do you write?
  7. What is your favorite genre to write in?
  8. What is your favorite time of day to write?
  9. How do you make time to write?
  10. What advice would you give to new writers?

Here are my personal answers to these questions:

1.) What are your five favorite books?

Cress by Marissa Meyer; Psyche in a Dress by Francesca Lia Block; Braided by Elora Bishop; Primavera by Francesca Lia Block; A Company of Swans by Eva Ibbotson; The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter; and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling. (Alright, so that’s my top seven; I have a lot of favorites!)

2.) What authors influence you?

Emily Dickinson, Marissa Meyer, and J.K. Rowling.

3.) What music inspires you?

Celtic and meditation/nature music, classical, the Kingdom Hearts soundtrack, and Utada Hikaru.

4.) Conduct an interview with the protagonist of your current work-in-progress.

I might use this as a future blog post! ;D

5.) Have you ever participated in a NaNoWriMo event (including Camp NaNoWriMo)? How was your experience?

I participated in two 2012 Camp NaNoWriMo sessions, one 2013 session, and two 2014 sessions. I plan on doing more in the future. My first NaNoWriMo session was November 2014, in which I reached the 50,000 word count, though I did not finish the plot; it’s still a work in progress.

6.) Why do you write?

Writing gives me a purpose. It’s therapeutic and helps me make sense of the world. I also want to leave my stories behind in this world.

7.) What is your favorite genre to write in?

I prefer fantasy, literary fiction, and poetry.

8.) What is your favorite time of day to write?

I am at my most productive at night.

9.) How do you make time to write?

Lots of coffee.

10.) What advice would you give to new writers?

Find time to read, and read everything. Write reviews of your favorite and least favorite books. Make outlines for your work. You will hear some people say “write every day,” but don’t forget that it’s okay to take a day for yourself. Spending an entire day reading in bed is perfectly okay. Always finish what you start.

Answer these questions on your own blog and link back or comment here, I’d love to see your answers!

Leave a Reply

