Poetry · Reading

My Top 25 Favorite Books

Every book adds another layer to the human condition, and I think a lot can be said about a person based on their favorite books. Inspired by A Comfy Chair in the Corner, I have compiled a list of twenty-five of my favorite books. This was complicated to put together, considering my “favorites” list on Goodreads contains over a hundred titles. This list is subjective, considering books may be added or removed from this list the more I read.

  1. Cress by Marissa Meyer
  2. Psyche in a Dress by Francesca Lia Block
  3. Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë
  4. Braided: A Lesbian Rapunzel by Elora Bishop
  5. Primavera by Francesca Lia Block
  6. A Company of Swans by Eva Ibbotson
  7. The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
  8. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling
  9. Mother Courage and Her Children by Bertolt Brecht
  10. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  11. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
  12. The Belle of Amherst by William Luce
  13. The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle
  14. The Ink Dark Moon: Love Poems by Ono No Komachi and Izumi Shikibu, Women of the Ancient Court of Japan by Jane Hirshfield
  15. The Vagina Monologues by Eve Ensler
  16. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll
  17. Life in the Iron Mills by Rebecca Harding Davis
  18. The Essential Haiku: Versions of Basho, Buson, and Issa by Robert Hass
  19. Fruits Basket, Vol. 23 by Natsuki Takaya
  20. Daisy Miller by Henry James

I will also add the collections of my favorite poets:

  1. The Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson by Emily Dickinson
  2. To My Husband and Other Poems by Anne Bradstreet
  3. Sappho: Lyrics in the Original Greek with Translations by Willis Barnstone by Sappho
  4. The Selected Poetry of Edna St. Vincent Millay by Edna St. Vincent Millay
  5. Newspaper Blackout by Austin Kleon

Based on this list, I’m drawn to female protagonists, fantasy, poetry, and mythology. Sometimes the themes captivate me; other times it’s the characters or the way the story makes me feel. I also love reading memoirs, but they rarely make my favorites list.

What are your five, ten, twenty (or more) favorite books? How do you choose your favorites?

2 thoughts on “My Top 25 Favorite Books

  1. my favorite book ever is The Children of Green Knowe by L M Boston. It was my first taste of something delightfully different. Just typing the name warms my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

