Writing

How to Prep for Camp NaNoWriMo

Even though I trekked the NaNoWriMo challenge for the very first time last November, I have been participating in Camp NaNoWriMo for three years now. Two events take place each year, and I have participated in five of them. This has resulted in four novellas. There is nothing else like the knowledge that you finished the first draft of a writing project in a month. I’m addicted to the feeling of accomplishment knowing that one more story is out of my system. I also personally use the sessions as writing exercises; I like to see what I can get away with in my writing in terms of experimental eccentricities.

This year, Camp NaNoWriMo’s sessions will take place in April and July. With about five weeks to prepare, I have made a list for the Camper to pack with them on this trip. All the Camper needs is an idea, which can be detailed in the Novel Info section of the profile. When packing for Camp NaNoWriMo, the Camper needs:

  1. Project outline (or whatever works for the personalized writing process; for me, it’s an outline)
  2. Word count goal
  3. Project genre & category
  4. Project synopsis
  5. Cover

If the user has a NaNoWriMo profile, they can use the same username and password to enter the Camp NaNo website. The same thing happens when a Camp NaNo profile is created! After creating a profile, the above components can be entered in and – BOOM! – the Camper is ready for Camp! But what else can be done to prepare?

  • Set aside some time each day that fits into your schedule.
  • Schedule your word counts accordingly. (Example: since I write novellas, I set my word count to 17,500 words – that is equivalent to about 584 words a day.)
  • Edit the Camper Info in your Camp NaNoWriMo profile!
  • Make a playlist that reminds you of your story!
  • Take a look in the Camp NaNo section of the NaNoWriMo forums.

Camp NaNoWriMo is a free virtual writing camp; something I really wish was around when I was growing up. But now that it is here, I can’t get enough of it!

Are you doing Camp NaNoWriMo this year?

6 thoughts on “How to Prep for Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. I am participating in Camp NaNo this year. I look forward to it all the time. I have to say I’m glad they added camp so we can have NaNo sessions three times a year instead of just once. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m mood boarding, working out my main character and trying to actually figure out my story since my idea is more ‘X character thrown into Y situation’. I don’t actually have any sort of story!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That sounds like a great process! Stories get written in all kinds of ways; NaNoWriMo dubs people “planners” and “pantsers” (those who write by the seat of their pants)! I’m definitely a planner but it’s great that you will be starting from a base idea and working from there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

