Reading

Three Favorite Book Places

While I love books, a love of book places comes with the territory of book-loving. You can tell a lot about someone based on their favorite books, and I believe the same can be said about their favorite book places. So where are my three favorite book places?

The Traveler Restaurant – Union, CT

traveler food and booksNotice at the beginning of this post, I said “book places;” this location is why. This is one of my favorite places to stop when I am en route between Massachusetts and Connecticut. Located right off I-84, The Traveler Restaurant has a unique policy for all customers: for every person at a table who orders a meal, they can pick three books off of the bookshelves that line the room! It was at this restaurant where I discovered the work of one of my favorite authors, Francesca Lia Block, by picking up her book Echo. This restaurant also has a basement-turned-bookstore, and is a must-stop for any book-lover passing by.

The Book Bear – West Brookfield, MA

bookbearThe Book Bear is a small bookstore where every shelf is packed with used, rare, and out of print books. I have a small collection of books that predate 1890 that I bought from this location. My favorite part is opening a book at random and seeing if someone from the turn of the century wrote inside the cover. The only downside lies in my allergies—I always get sick from the exposure to dust—but it’s totally worth it!

Mojo Books and Music – Tampa, FL

This used bookstore has a special place in my heart. Books, music, and coffee? I’m there. The variety that stocks their shelves ranges from manga and poetry to new literature and classics and feminist theory. Ten dollars can go far in this avalanche of used books and vinyl. Mojo will even pay for your old books that they accept! I could be in this store for hours, sifting through the shelves and soaking in the vibe.

Based on my three favorite book places, I am the type of person who likes a quiet, unique, almost historical atmosphere. I also like books that have history to them; I love finding books with dog-eared pages or with margins that have been written in. When I hold books like that, it makes me feel like I’m a part of the book’s outer story.

These are my favorite east coast book places; I highly recommend these locations for any book-lover! Share your favorite book places, I’d love to hear of them and check them out!

2 thoughts on “Three Favorite Book Places

Leave a Reply

