First Reads · Poetry · Reading

Goodreads First Reads: “Reruns: Poetry and Prose” by D. Marie Fitzgerald

It is no secret that I am obsessed with Goodreads. One of my favorite aspects of the website is their Goodreads First Reads giveaway. Readers can enter to win new and soon-to-be-released books to read, rate, and review. It is a great program for authors to get their work out into the world. To be a reader holding one of the first copies of a new book is simply magical. The readers who win receive the copy(ies) within a few weeks, and the reading experience begins.

I have thus far received five books through the Goodreads First Reads program and read and reviewed two. The first of these two books was Reruns: Poetry and Prose by. D. Marie Fitzgerald. My four-star rating and review can also be found on Goodreads here.

reruns poetry and prose

Reruns: Poetry and Prose is a beautifully quaint creative nonfiction collection by D. Marie Fitzgerald. I was lucky enough to receive this copy for free through Goodreads First Reads.

As a mixture of poetry and prose, the poetry made me simultaneously feel as if I needed to slow down and take in every syllable while not wanting to put the book down. The poetry brings the readers through the joys, tribulations, disgust, and spiritual journeys of the narrator.

There are two instances of the word g*psy, which is an ethnic slur. The stories in the prose were captivating, though I feel they were placed in a manner that was distracting to the poetry, interrupting the pace of the reading (though the ultimate messages of the writings worked together in its order very well). There were a few grammatical and spelling errors, but that does not affect the entire reading experience.

Two poems that truly stick out to me are “Missing” and “I Have Pictured Myself for Years.” With the former featuring the beautifully constructed line of “You are stretching outward towards/some unanswered question on your Prufrock plate,” and the latter referencing Rapunzel (my favorite fairy tale) in a daring manner, I found I could relate and appreciate Fitzgerald’s words. I was taken on a journey with her poetry and I found myself rooting for her, reminiscing with her, and celebrating alongside her. Her book encapsulates womanhood in youth, age, and the existence in between.+

Picture from Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

