Questionnaire · Reading · Writing

Reader Questionnaire

I found this questionnaire from A Platform of Sorts and thought it would be a neat way to kick off six more weeks of winter!

  1. What is your favorite book?

Cress by Marissa Meyer; I really connect with the Rapunzel fairytale, and I think Meyer does a wonderful job of intertwining the realities of the original fairytale while keeping the modern whimsy.

  1. What are your goals? For the year? For your life?

My goals for the year are to finish the novella and novel that I started late last year. I will also participate in the two Camp NaNoWriMo sessions, as well as the 2015 NaNoWriMo. For my life, I want to complete my MBA, as well as an MFA in Fiction.

  1. Are you a writer? If so, tell me about your work.

As of this posting, I have written four unpublished novellas. My two works in progress are my 2014 NaNoWriMo novel and my fifth novella. My first chapbook, Tableau Vivant, will be published by dancing girl press later this year.

  1. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

London is at the top of my list; though I would also love to visit Japan and Poland.

  1. What was the last movie you saw in the theater and was it worthwhile?

I saw “The Imitation Game” and I consider that movie to be a film. I don’t use that word lightly; it was amazing.

  1. I’m curious, are there any books that you’ve tried to read and simply couldn’t finish? This is a no judgment zone.

I am obsessed with Goodreads, so I will finish a book, even if it’s horrible, for the sole purpose of rating it.

  1. Are you currently working on a new book/project right now?

I have a few chapters left to write for my novella. My novel is currently in shambles; about a quarter of it needs to be written and reorganized.

  1. If you could live in any of your favorite books, which one would you choose?

The Harry Potter series, so I could live my Ravenclaw dreams.

  1. Are there any book-to-movie adaptations that you think are just incredible? That you absolutely hated?

Thus far, The Hunger Games series has been very faithful to the books. I also adore the 2005 Pride and Prejudice adaptation. I have never read Eat, Pray, Love, but I saw it in theatres and I was not impressed. While she ate, prayed, and loved, she could not hold my attention.

  1. What do you look for in a book that you want to read? What’s the first thing to capture your attention?

The first thing that captures my attention is the cover. Looking at my favorites list on Goodreads, I tend to go for books with whimsical covers that feature female protagonists. I love stories of fantasy and adventure.

  1. If you’re an author, what do you do when you first get an idea for a book?

When I get an idea, I start by writing out the general plot. Then I make a basic outline with the names of the characters. Putting the outline somewhere safe, I then enter in the idea into my iPhone app “A Novel Idea” so I can add details to the entry on-the-go.

  1. How do you feel about different genres? Romance? YA? Sci-Fi? Poetry? Do you have any favorites? Any least-favorites?

I love memoirs, poetry, feminist works, and fantasy. My least favorites are books that have Mary Sue protagonists, and those with racist or sexist micro-aggressions.

  1. If you could meet any writer in the world, dead or alive, who would it be?

Emily Dickinson is at the top of the list, then Marissa Meyer and J.K. Rowling.

  1. Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

I like both, though I’m much more picky when it comes to non-fiction.

  1. Are there any characters that everyone loves that you can’t stand? Or vice versa?

Augustus Waters seems to be the type of person who tries too hard to sound smart in conversation. He is a well-written character; I just don’t think I would like to be in his company.

  1. What do you like to do besides reading/writing?

I love riding my bike and playing video games. Sometimes I sew.

  1. If you could be remembered for one thing, what would it be?

I want to be remembered through the stories I write and the friendships I’ve made.

  1. What is your favorite guilty pleasure book?

I actually love horribly written books more than I should. I love to hate bad grammar and editing.

  1. Do you have a reading goal set for this year?

I set my Goodreads goal for 50 books, though I’ve already reached the halfway point!

  1. Tell me anything about yourself that hasn’t been asked.

I have been to five countries outside of the US: France, Italy, Monaco, Malta, and Australia.

6 thoughts on “Reader Questionnaire

      1. Alas, I cannot take credit for it; I read it online somewhere. But I agree! It’s interesting how Ravenclaw is not only the house of the intellect, but creativity as well. I think I read somewhere that Ravenclaws were more likely to be artists and writers!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

