Writing

My NaNo Strategy: Week 4

I did it. I had a story to get out of me, and it got out of me. The plot of my novel has yet to be finished and is currently divided in four documents and a handwritten packet, but I have written fifty thousand words this month. As the fourth installation of the My NaNo Strategy series, here are the tactics that got me through week four:

  • Week 1 strategies. Typing on my computer and iPhone, physically writing, writing in different areas throughout the room in different positions, and separating the word count into blocks of 500, 500, and 667 all helped me this week.
  • Week 2 strategies. Writing during lunch breaks, listening to the playlist I made, and staying up late were all strategies that made comebacks during the past few days.
  • Week 3 strategies. Keeping my mind open and my outline flexible, blogging about the NaNoWriMo experience, and asking questions about my manuscript and characters aided my in my fourth week.
  • Wrote with my fiancé. Though he did not participate in NaNoWriMo, he did accept my challenge of writing a full-length play in a week. We stayed up to the wee hours of the morning together on opposite ends of the room, typing furiously on our keyboards until we both reached over three thousand words each, interrupted only with interspersed air kisses.
  • Downloaded free (and not so free) ebooks on writing. Purchasing ebooks helped me look forward to the time that came after the writing: the time when I could read for pleasure again without feeling guilty that I should be writing. Downloading books on writing will help me get back into my old writing routine.
  • Sat down and forced the words out of me. At the end of the day, it’s all about just getting words on the page, whatever the format. All of the strategies in the world would not be able to help me if I never sat down in front of my computer or with a pen in my hand and got the words out, even if that meant that every character in my novel suffered from excessive nodding.

Though I did not finish the plot of my novel, I wrote the majority of it and reached fifty thousand words. I now sit here in a state of pride and shock. There will be a post tomorrow of the complete compilation of the strategies I used this month, and a more detailed description of how I feel upon achieving my very first National Novel Writing Month.

One thought on “My NaNo Strategy: Week 4

Leave a Reply

