Writing

Pen Names and Even More Zombies and Vampires

The last time I searched myself online, there were over five hundred people in the country with my name. One is another patient of my previous doctor, and another is a very successful sports coach, whose parents even have the same names as my parents.

So I decided it was time for a pen name.

At least, only for my personal, anything-goes fantasy. If I ever look into writing books of potential literary merit, I would just use my initials. So, I picked the name of a street I used to live on and paired it with the maiden name of a great-grandmother.

There’s a freedom in having a pseudonym. It’s like I’ve split myself in two; I’m a Gemini, so it fits. One side is aspiring to write ground-breaking fiction, and the other side creates her own worlds of zombies, magic, and yes, vampires.

In total, I have written eight journals of poetry and four novellas. Three of those novellas I have credited under the pen name. I’m currently writing my fifth novella and next month I will be participating in my first NaNoWriMo, which will hopefully end up with my first novel written. I will be using my pen name for both projects. If I ever decide to pursue the self-publishing route, it will be under that name.

Having a pen name is an adventure in itself, and I can’t wait to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

